Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar: Do MPAs Matter For Climate Change?

January 17, 2023 | 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm PST

This webinar is presented by the OCTO Group. All questions should be submitted to OCTO.

Register through OCTO Here

Presented by: Joachim Claudet of the French National Center for Scientific Research

Date/Time: Tuesday, January 17, 11 am US EST/8 am US PST/5 pm CET/4 pm UTC

Description: Marine protected areas (MPAs) are increasingly being promoted as an ocean-based climate solution. These claims are controversial, however, because the literature on the climate benefits of MPAs is diffuse and poorly synthesized. To address this knowledge gap, we conducted a systematic literature review of 22,403 publications spanning 241 MPAs and analyzed these across 16 ecological and social pathways through which MPAs could contribute to climate change mitigation and adaptation. Our meta-analysis found that marine conservation can significantly enhance carbon sequestration, coastal protection, biodiversity, and the reproductive capacity of marine organisms as well as fishers’ catch and income. Most of these benefits are only achieved in fully or highly protected areas and increase with MPA age. This webinar will present these results and discuss the extent to which MPAs can be a useful tool for mitigating climate change and adapting social-ecological systems.

Hosts: NOAA National MPA Center and OCTO

Register through OCTO Here

Details

Date:
January 17, 2023
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm PST
Event Category:
Website:
https://octogroup.org/do-mpas-matter-for-climate-change-mitigation-and-adaptation/

Venue

zoom

Organizer

OCTO Open Communications

Newsletter

Learn more about exciting volunteer opportunities, events, and current research at Cape Perpetua through our quarterly newsletter!

You have Successfully Subscribed!